Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) set up the Dr TMA Pai Endownment Chair in Indian Literature in 2015 to promote and support projects in contemporary Indian literature. Dr Vaidehi, the renowned Kannada writer, was the first Chair in Indian Literature. In June 2017, the Chair was awarded to the novelist Gayathri Prabhu. 

From June 2017 to May 2018, the Chair set up four initiatives: the Writer-in-Residence program, Manipal Writers Workshop, Book Completion Fellowship, and the Manipal Young Writers Publishing Grant. In January 2019, the Chair inaugurated the Manipal Arts Initiative. The Chair will continue to extend its support to writers through residencies and fellowships from June 2018  to May 2019. 

The Dr TMA Pai Chair in Indian Literature at MAHE is committed to nurturing thoughtful discussions around literature and offering writers the time and space to complete their projects.